No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your

Extrinsic knowledge and experience are crucial for advancement of any particular field ? The author claims so, I concede with the authors view. However, this advancement of any particular field of doesn’t only depend on the incorporating extrinsic knowledge and experience, rather on many other factors such as fundamental works, working on finer and specifics of that field and other factors such as socio-economic impact of that particular field.

To succeed in any field of study, it is imperative to get a great understanding of the fundamental basics of that field and they a play a key role in further development of that field. Let us consider the field of quantum physics is still very new and its fundamentals itself were not very lucid to the scientists. So, there is not point for people working on this field to incorporate knowledge from other areas of physics as it will be quite different. Strengthening the fundamental understanding of the quantum physics is crucial to its advancements.

Furthermore, with advancements in the knowledge in any particular field there is also increase in the complexities of that particular field. The more we learn in the about our body the complex it is becoming to understand. So it is highly imperative to have people to with in-depth knowledge into one specific field. To treat various alignments of our body we need various speciality and the ability of the doctor to treat a specific alignment in the body depends on his or her speciality in that the field. So, the success of an ophthalmologist depends on finer and detailed knowledge of the eye rather than other organs.

However, sometimes it interdisciplinary collaborations yield greater results and help in the precipitating the advancements. As discussed earlier it is important for an ophthalmologist to collaborate with a physicist and understand physics in order to develop diagnostic tools. These diagnostic tools tend to help the ophthalmologist in diagnosing the disease earlier and there help the patients better.

In conclusion, the advancements of a particular field depend on many factors. It is important to get the understanding of the basic fundamentals right and also go into the finer aspects of any particular field in order to advance in that field. However, often having experience and knowledge of other fields also helps in the success and speedup its advancements.