Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Are we not responsible for the global climatic changes due to our life style and energy consumption patterns ? I feel as individuals we should take up the responsibility of our environment and preserving it. However, not only at the individual level strong determination should also be shown from the government and society at larger.

First of all, there is an increasing amount evidence coming up to show that there is a large amount of damage created to the environment because of the human activites. There is already a large amount of Ozone layer damage because CFCs which are used heavily in many of the home appliances such as AC's, Fluroscence lights and Refrigelators and so on. However, with the increasing evidence of impact of CFCs on environment many countries are creating awareness among people to not to use these products and banned these products containing these chemicals were ever possible. Many new alternatives have also been developed and people at individual level should start using only environmental friendly products.

Secondly, people should also reduce there energy consumptions and start using renewable energy resources where possible. Most of the automobiles now a days use petrol which leads to lot of pollution and this pollution causes environmental changes at subtle levels leading to changes in the global temperatures. In the recent past there has been evidence that the average temperature has gone up and this raise in global temperature various climatic distrubances and causing inclement wheather conditions. Untimely cyclones and hurricanes and other natural disators taking many human life and causing economic loss. So people at individual take up the accountability and start using the more environment friendly energy resources such as compressed natural gases and solar energy.

On the other hand, Industries are one of the major cause for environment damage. So in order to control the industries Government should take up firm policies and action to protect the environment. For instance when a power generation plants are licenced for power generation the government should place checks and ensure that the pollution from the power generation is treated well to make it harmless to the environment. So it is the responsibility of the government to see to it that the industrial damage to the environment is minimized.

In conclusion, each and every individual as well the goverment are responsible in conserving the environment and saving it from the damage from human use. Individuals should take up a conservative approach and start using renewable energy resources . Governments should enact stringent environmental policies to safe the environment from the industrial impact.