Some people believe it is imperative for individuals living in developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a more sustainable lifestyle, given the evidence for global climate change. Others believe that such drastic lifestyle changes are unwarranted, based on the existing evidence for global climate change.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The prompt says that it is crucial for the citizens of developed nations to reduce their energy consumption and lead a sustainable lifestyle. While this changes doesn't guarantee immediate betterment in global climate, the sustainable measures should still be taken.

The ozone layer of atmosphere is responsible for preventing ultraviolet rays of sun from reaching the earth's surface. Human beings are accountable for the depletion of ozone layer and melting which has led to melting of polar ice and temperature rise in several countries. The air conditioners release CFC gas which reacts with ozone and creates holes in ozone layer of atmosphere. If the individuals reduce their use of these machines, the phenomenon of ozone layer depletion can be slowed. In addition, if more trees are planted, the increase in amount of oxygen can help fill up the holes in the layer as oxygen is one of the elements that makes up ozone.

The increase in amount of carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide is also one of the reasons of global warming. The drastic rise in number of automobiles has lead to the increase in the emission of these harmful gases in the atmosphere. If the citizens are advised to use public transports for long distance and bicycle for short distance, the use of personal vehicles will decrease which will decrease the emission of harmful gases. Moreover, less number of vehicles on road will reduce traffic which in turn will reduce noise pollution and save time.

If the citizens implement these changes in their lifestyle, this doesn't guarantee the betterment of the climate because the industrial plants are still going to work and use the energy. Eventhough all these changes will not bring the immediate effects on the global climate, exploiting the resources and not taking any measures will only make situation worse for the future generations. As it is said that drops of water fill the ocean, these small measures will surely make earth a better place for living.