College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The choice of field of study for college after high school is the most important and difficult in a student's life. The whole life depends on that one career choice so it should be made wisely considering all the aspects of personal interest as well as the demands of society. Even though it is important to assess the scope of the subject and the availability of jobs related to it, the priority should be given to personal satisfaction and choosing the option which brings contentment.

If an individual chooses the field of study in which there are more jobs available, there are chances a huge number of other individuals will think the same. This will increase the competition for the job positions. There will be very few cases where the number of positions is equal to or more than the number of aspirants. Let us suppose a student opts for the field which has a high scope in future but is not at all interested in the subject. Even if the student will work hard to get the job, he will not be content with his job. The high payscale will bring satisfaction for some time, but in some years the life will become boring and money will not be able to bring any contentment. This may result in a lot of stress and lead to depression. It may be too late to leave the job and start a new career so the person will stick to the job until retirement. After retirement, the chances of having enough energy in the body to pursue something that brings joy and satisfaction will be less.

On the other hand, if the student decides to follow his passion, he will find himself happy for the most amount of time. It is not always necessary that there are jobs available in every field, however, if there is dedication the success is not far. If an individual is interested in painting, the computers and stock markets do not bring any excitement in him, he will not be happy in pursuing in business and technology. There are plethora of artists in the world so it might be difficult to make money, but it takes only one painting to get famous. It takes only one book to become a best-seller to become a well-known author.

One can always choose a field which is high in demand but do a part time job in that field to leave enough time for oneself to follow their passion. Getting the job is always about money, and money can bring all the materialistic happiness but the internal satisfaction is only in doing things that makes one genuinely happy. Thus, college students should always consider their personal interests before deciding their field of study.