The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The classification of a nation as great depends on the happiness and satisfaction of the citizens irrespective of the achievements of its rulers, artists or scientists. It is obvious that a nation will not be termed as a great nation if there is broad unhappiness amongst the citizens. Therefore, the general welfare of the public is definitely an indicator of a great nation.

The achievements made by individuals depend on the facilities they are provided. The individuals of the country need to be employed, literate , healthy and satisfied in order to achieve success which will in turn result in the progress of the country. A nation afflicted with famine, poverty, unemployment, slow econominc growth and below par per capita income will have to face many complications hich will hinder the nation's way to progress and to become a great nation.

People who are below the poverty line will go on unethical path to earn money to feed their family. Unemployed individuals can easily fall in traps and do criminal activities to gain more money than the salary of minimum wage jobs. Uncontrolled corruption will make it difficult for the nation to progress as it will promote illegal activities and hinder the chances of deserving citizens for any position. The success of rulers, artists or scientists will not make any difference on the image of the nation if it is ruined because of the living conditions of the citizens.

Discoveries and inventions of scientists will not be proven of much siginificance if it is not advantageous to its citizens. It may make the achievers famous and bring name to the country, however, will not be enough to consider the nation as great. An example of such an activity for the betterment of individuals will be the space organization of the country launching any satellite that makes lives of their citizens easier. The ruler's accomplishments mean nothing if they don't make any difference to the way of living of the public. For example, Sri Lanka's former leader Rajpaksha was very well-known and praised amongst the country, nevertheless, he couldn't do anything when the country's currency fell against US dollar. The country suffered with economic crisis and the citizens had no fuel to travel even to school or work.

The achievements of rulers, artists or scientists are the result of a great nation, but are not the main reason why the nation should be termed great. The general welfare of the public is the most important aspect which will lead the nation to engender great rulers, artists and scientists.