Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As the technology is advancing, the Internet has given the opportunity to convey their thoughts and opinions on anything through social media and blogs. The feature of viewing others' opinions and giving a reaction on them has made people more audacious about their views. The claim that the emergence of these conveniences has significantly abated the quality of political discourse in United States is true in my opninion because when these options are accessible to anyone, the standards for publishing news and political discussions are bound to fall.

Social media is used by huge portion of population and it has given the freedom to express opinions, popular or unpopular, to everyone. Since it is accessible to everyone, there is no restriction of age or education or profession. This has lead to people sharing their views in every way they can. As general public are not as much skilled as the professional journalists and editors, the quality of their written opinions is not up to the mark. Furthermore, the citizens who are less aware of the situations give their views on the basis or partial knowledge which creates a mismatch with the original condition.

Earlier, the news were available on television or the newspapers which was limited and verified. However, as there are no age or education resitrictions for the social media and blogging platforms, kids and the group of people completely unaware of the situation or the pre-story of the situation give their opinions. Some people also spread false news to incite certain group of people or just for fun. The number of the articles and posts has increased astronomically but there are no sources to verify it. This has reduced the quality of the news.

Although the technology has made it possible for news to be available to everyone and allowed everyone to express their opinions and discuss them, this has lowered the standards for covering the news and political topics. Not everyone has proper knowledge on these topics, so allowing anyone to publish their opinions will definitely lead to the decrease in quality.