The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the given memo, the vice president of Quiot Manufacturing discusses about the on-the-job accidents happening in his industry and comparing it with that of the Panoply industries plant, concludes that reducing the number of working hours will result in the decline in these accidents. However, this assertion relies on doubtful assumptions and so it is unconvincing. These assumptions need to be substantiated before implementing his suggested solution.

The vice president suggests that his company had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply industries plant. There can be many reasons for this. It can be possible that the machines used by Quiot Manufacturing are too old and Panoply industries might be using newer machines or machines based on latest technology. Moreover, it is also possible that the amount of production is higher in Quiot Manufacturing and the machines are therefore not capable of taking the load.

One of the other reasons of the increse in on-the-job accidents can be the skills of the workers. If the workers are not familiar with the machines and the process, and are capable of operating them properly, the accidents can happen. Also, the workers can also be lazy and careless about their work which may result in accidents. On the other hand, the workers at Panoply industries can be more skilled and more dedicated about their work leading them to be more careful about accidents.

The vice president's suggestion of reducing the number of working hours is based on the fact that the other industry workers have one hour shorter shifts. However, there is no relation between the number of working hours and the on-the-job accidents happening. The assumption that decreasing the number of working hours will increase the productivity is not evident enough to conclude that this will also result in the decrease in the number of on-the-job accidents. In addition, the abatement in the work shift hours may result in decline in production and therefore leading to a huge loss to the company.

The work hour shifts cannot be considered the main reason of the difference in the number of on-the-job accidents. Other factors such as the quality of machineries and the skills of the workers should be assessed before coming to the conclusion of decreasing the number of hours in work shifts. Therefore, the suggestion of shortening the each of three work shifts by one hour should be re-evaluated.