A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author here interprets the survey of 250 adults between the age of 30 and 45 spending their time online and on the basis of certain statistics comes to the conclusion that spending too much time online has a connection with depression and one should limit their time online for the improvement of their well-being. However certain questions need to be answered before concluding such as What is the background of the adults taking the survey? Do they have kids or family members or any other reasons that may make them feel sad? What are the adults doing online? The answer to these questions decides whether the given argument is appropriate or not.

An individual with family problems or career problems can be sad or depressed regardless of their time spent online. As it is mentioned that 20 percent of adults reported feeling sad or down atleast three times withing the past month, it is not said that this was because of them spending 30 hours online per week. The survey should contain the question of what is the impact of spending time online on their emotional state. They can be sad or depressed and as a result of which they might be using their time to interact with others or do any other activities online to lessen their stress.

The profession or the medium of working of the adults is not provided. If an individual has work in the computer online, it can also be considered as spending time online. The survey result shows that the adults spending 30 or more hours online per week were more likely having trouble concentrating. While online distraction such as social media can be the reason for not being able to focus, there should be explanation on what type of activities adults do online to come to the conclusion that it brings interruption in concentration.

Although spending too much time online is not good for health and might result in disconnect with the surroundings, the evidences in the giving prompt are not enough to give the statement that one should limit their time online to prevent depression.