A recent survey of 250 adults between the ages of 30 and 45 showed an association between the number of hours adults spend online each day and self-reporting of symptoms commonly associated with depression. The survey found that adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week were twice as likely as others to report that they “frequently” had trouble concentrating. Of adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online, 20 percent also reported that they had felt “sad, down, or blue” at least three times within the past month.

These results suggest that spending too much time online is linked to depression and people who want to improve their well-being should strictly limit the time they spend online.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It may be true that spending too much time online can lead to depression and people who want to improve thier well being should limit the time they spend online, but author's argument relies on many stated and unstated assumptions. There are certain questions that author should address in order to validate the argument as a whole. If any of these questions are left unanswered it would be difficult for the reader to take a position.

First of all, author posits that survey was conducted on 250 adults. It might be possible that the 250 adults selected for survey are already under certain pressure conditions in life like work pressure, because between the ages of 30 and 45, work like is highly competitive. It may be possible it is not the spending of time online is the cause of depression but it is personal lifestyle that is causing depression. Is the survey conducted by a legitimate authority? Unless the author mentions the authority that conducted the survey and the feasibility of the survey, argument holds no water.

Secondly, author says adults who spend 30 hours or more online each week are twice as likely as others to report the frequent trouble in concentration. Author should verify whether spending more time online is solely responsible for issues in concentration. Thirdly, author claims that 20 percent of the adults who reported spending more than 30 hours per week online felt sad and down at least three times within the past month, but it might be possible that this was the case only in the past month. Prior to the past month, people were gregarious and happy in their life without any depression even after spending more than 30 hours per week online. It will injustifiable to consider only the past month's data.

Finally, author feels well being can be improved if the spending of too much time online is restricted. But in today's era, people are heavily dependent on technology for everything. The computer era doesn't allow to demarcate the spending of time online. Moreover, limiting the use of technology is not solely responsible for improving the well being. There are many factors that lead to a happy and cheerful well being.

As evidenced, author's argument depends on many unwarranted assumptions and subsequently fails to provide a cogent and well articulated argument. These questions must be acknowledged by author to provide a logical reasoning to the argument. Without providing answers to these questions, argument stands invalid.