The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It may be true that unmanned space flights can be economical and resource efficient but there are many stated and understated assumptions on which the author's argument depends. Author believes that manned space flight is expensive and dangerous. Is there any reason on which this statement depends? Author should meticulously explain the statement by providing facts and figures. He/She should put down the figures of building manned space flights comparing to building unmanned space flights. If there are any facts and figures to display, are the sources genuine? It might be possible author has conducted his study merely on certain set of space flights where the argument of the author actually stands true. There might be possible few manned space flights in the world proved to be highly cost efficient and safe, but author might have not considered those space flights. Author should mention the source of his study and validate the argument.

Further, author has stated about the recent success of unmanned space probes and satellites. Author has only considered the recent successes. It might be possible that earlier to these successes, unmanned space probes and satellites lead to failures in conducting investigations. How recent the successes are? Author should provide a fullproof detailed study of the success of the recent unmanned space probes and satellites. It may be possible that the recent success of the space probes and satellites actually did not require human intervention. For example, success of studying the appearances of the moon, this study may not need any human to intervene. But what if study or probe requires a human intervene, continuing the example, appearance of moon taking into consideration of the surrounding lights and environment and at different temperature levels. This study might need a human backing. Author should mention what kind of probe or study he/she is writing about; without providing the relevency of the argument, the study holds no water. It may be possible manned space flight can acquire more information about the probe than an unmanned space flight.

I agree to the author's fact that sending men and women into space can be dangerous but there might be few probes that require human interventions. In that case, a different alternative has to be found to conduct a safe and secured study. Cost and safety are important aspects of the study of author, but there many other aspects to that author should consider too, in order to conduct a study. It might be possible unmanned space flights are very difficult to operate and maintain because it is not supervised by any human.

As evidenced, there are many assumptions on which author's argument depends. Author should address each and every detailed aspect of the study and then come up with a solid study, only then author's argument is justifiable. Unless these facts and figures, it is difficult to end up on a position.