The following appeared as part of a petition sent to residents of Youngtown by an environmental protection group:

“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It may be true that the development of hotel in the area of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve will harm the sanctuary, but there are many stated and understated assumptions made by the author and on which author's argument depends.

First of all, the proposed plan will use the very small percentage of the wildlife sanctuary, but this small percentage can actually be a huge hectare of land. Author should mention the exact figures of the proposed plan. Secondly, if the hotel started generating profits they may begin to expand their hotel slowly and gradually.

Youngtown Wildlife Preserve the only place to live for 300 bird species? Isn't it possible to transfer few species of birds to another park or zoo so that the density of birds staying in that area remains same even if the hotel is built?

Writer mentions proposed plan will have disastrous consequence on the species, but developing an hotel will help promote the sanctuary itself. And also author has mentioned that there is no way this sale will help the community but actually this will lead to increased number of tourists to the sanctuary. It will eventually help authorities of sanctuary to maintain the park in a better way through increased amount of revenue generated from tourism. But increased tourism may provoke competitor hotels to build more hotels in that area. Author has nowhere mentioned that this will be the only hotel to be built in that area.

Author has mentioned the hotel authorities promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary; it may happen once the hotel is built, the hotel itself is creating water pollution and sound pollution making the lives of birds and animals devastating. Hotel owners may step back from accepting the responsibility of preserving the sanctuary. Author should mention whether the hotel owners have accepted the aforementioned responsibilty of preserving the wildlife.

Author should more clearly mention the benefits and disadvantages of building the hotels near a wildlife sanctuary. It is difficult to decide whether this will be a damaging step to a wildlife or not, because if any animal lover reads this passage will surely disapprove the plan whereas if a hotel businessman looks at the passage he will accept the plan. But for a layman to decide, it will be difficult to analyse and come up with a decision, as the facts and assumptions provided by the author are insufficient to make a wise decision. Hence, author should provide genuine facts and figures in order to decide whether to build a hotel in the area of wildlife sanctuary will be a feasible option or not.