Claim: The emergence of the online “blogosphere” and social media has significantly weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States.

Reason: When anyone can publish political opinions easily, standards for covering news and political topics will inevitably decline.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement relates the emergence of technology with politics. Technology continues to evolve, proving to be a boon for the nations like United States. The claim is that the emergence of online blogosphere and social media has weakened the quality of political discourse in the United States; and the author assumes the reason can be decline in covering of news and political topics because anyone can place his/her opinion easily through social media. I completely agree with the claim and reason stated by the author, because earlier due to lack of accessibility, people were helpless and they tend to follow the news and political topics covered by news channels merely.

Emergence of the online "blogosphere" has made it easy for each citizen of the country to place their views and opinions about the current political situation of the country.

Everyone is allowed to write whatever they want to. It may also happen people end up debating for a better political party. Social Media entitles right to everyone to come forward and speak. For example, if a person has faced many challenges and hardships for completing any government related work, he/she might upload his/her experience on the blogging website or upload a video on social media. This will create awareness among the people and people may come up with an insightful decision while selecting the ruling political party; whereas that particular person may not be able to reach to news channels to putforth his/her experience. Therefore, easy access can also be a reason to the depreciating quality of political discourse in the United States.

But on the other hand, a person may misuse the accessibility to slander somebody's reputation publicly on blogspots. This can be a disadvantage of technological advances which would have not been possible if news channels and media houses are solely allowed to cover political topics. Same disadvantage can be observed with the news channels. A political party may pay a high amount of money to news channels and in return asking news channels to bombast the reputation of that political party. Again, this would have not been the case if there were no news channels and citizens conduct political discussions online. But online political discussions does not guarantee the validation of source of information.

Online blogosphere and social media will continue to weaken the political discourse in the united states because people are moving towards technological developments. Each and everyone of us are highly dependent on technology; rather than watching news channels we tend to receive updates from mobile applications, because it not only saves time but also promises to be genuinely, lucid.