Some people believe that increasing violence in the media is the cause of increasing violence in our society, especially among children. Others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behavior.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented above.

The claim posits increasing the viloence in the media is exacerbating the violence in the society and others believe that children's peer groups and parental role models are influencing the children's behaviour. Evolution of media industry comes with many advantages and disadvantages. Media plays a powerful influential role among the children. But if parents are stringent towards their children's upbringing then media can hardly influence the child. I believe children's peer groups and parental role models are a much more powerful influence on children's behaviour than the increase in violence in the media.

This generation is strongly attached to media; people spend a huge amount of time on technology. And young generation tends to live a solitary life, instead of cooperative life that the earlier generation experienced. Children, these days, are reliable on media for receiving news updates. Media can leave a huge impact, be it positive or be it devastating. Media has immense power to influence the new generation of the society. The callow generation may blindly follow with the aggressive acts shown on the media and thereby damaging the society's overall growth. Instead, society should positively leverage the power of media to create a innocuous and pacified environment.

But the media is not sole responsibility of the child's behaviour. In fact, media is hardly effective in building children's behaviour when the children's peer groups and parental role models comes into picture. Say for example, there is a lot of remonstrances shown on the media about a law passed in the society. Law can be anything like banning of cigarettes. In that case, media can depict that people are protesting against this law, because of which an aggressive child turn up to be violent. But if peer groups are at peace and the protests doesn't affect the behaviour, the child can lessen his/her want to join the protest. But if peer groups are highly affected with the ban, they can leave a huge negative impact on child's behaviour. Parental role models are also highly responsible for constructing children's behaviour; after all, a child is inspired by his/her parents.

Both media and children's peer groups and parental role models are collectively responsible for children's behaviour but we can say that the power of media can be undermined by the power of children's peer groups and parental role models. As shown using the example of the law passed to ban a cigarette, it is clear that peer groups and parental role models are more powerful than the media.