'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

It may be true that, to increase the revenues generated from advertising the news channel should restore its former structure of the show that devotes more time on weather and less time to local news, but the argument depends on many stated and understated assumptions that business manager of the television station should take into consideration.

First of all, whether the study conducted is reliable ? It might be possible people have stopped watching television late night and have started going to bed earlier than it is assumed to be. Here, changing the content of the show might not be helpful in attracting the advertisers. Though author has mentioned "most of the complaints received where concerned with station's coverage of weather and local news", but are complaints anywhere stating to stop the coverage of local news and increase the content of weather news? If yes, argument can gain some significance is taking a decision. Author should mention more about the concerns raised by the viewers.

Author says, local businesses that used to advertise with the stated late night have just canceled their advertising, but it might be possible that the advertisers canceled due to any other reason and not because of reduction in the viewership. It might be possible channel has raised the cost to advertise which is unaffordable for the local businesses now. Therefore, this claim should be carefully elaborated stating veracious facts and figures without which argument holds no water.

Have the local business owners, who used to advertise, claimed to come back to the same program to advertise, if the content of the news has been changed? It might be possible they have signed a contract with the other television channels for advertising and they may not return to this show even if the content has been changed. Business manager of the television station should conduct a meticulous study, considering all the facts and figures in order to come up with a decision. It is not guaranteed to have more audience if the content of the show has been changed. Viewers might get weather updates early in that day and that would make them stop watching the late night weather news, too. And the complaints raised might be regarding the high show length or maybe for inaccurate weather updates.

As evidenced, manager should address all the above stated assumptions and then come up with the accurate decision. Unless the above stated assumptions are acknowledged, it would be a bit difficult decision to take.