Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

It may be true that Pleasantville High School should institute a program wherein students will complete 40 hours of community services and this will boost the volunteering of teenagers for community service, but the argument depends on many stated and understated assumptions. Author should meticulously address all the assumptions that are required to.

Firstly, whether the community service held by charitable organisations are genuine? It might be possible that volunteering of teenagers declined because of disingenuous community service held by these organisations. It might be possible charitable organisations are not functioning properly; the owners of charity are trying to conceal their evil reputation through the charity. Everyone should understand what is the vision of charity. If the vision is highly positive, teenagers would love to volunteer. But if the vision is not so genuine, training students for 40 hours of community service in order to convince them to volunteer would be futile.

Secondly, it does not depend on what society wants from the teenagers of Pleasantville, rather it depends on teenager himself/herself whether he is interested in community service or not. It might be possible the events in community service are unable to lure teenagers of this generation and are boring or monotonous. Author should address what type of community service teenagers are expected to volunteer.

Moreover, if the school is offering 40 hours of community service prior to graduation, what about the cost of train the students? Is the cost paid by the government of Pleasantville or the school is expected to pay from its pocket? What are the returns school can expect by offering such community services? Author should acknwledge these assumptions. Without proper reasoning the argument holds no water.

If the 40 hours is utilised for community service, what about the academic courses? Is this community service to happen parallel to regular curriculum? Author should explain more in detail about the type of community service the school will provide and its guaranteed benefits to the society. It might be highly beneficial to charitable organisations, but it doesn't promise the continued volunteering from the students even after the program is completed.

As evidenced, argument is supported by many stated and unstated unwarranted assumptions; without these assumptions, the argument stands invalid and it becomes abstruce for a decision maker.