Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly declined.

The Pleasantville School Board should take measures to increase the number of volunteers. Teachers, parents, and other community members agree that it is important for young people to learn the value of community service. Requiring high school students to engage in community service would provide much-needed assistance to worthy local charities and would also help young people understand the importance of giving back to their community. For this reason, the Pleasantville School Board should institute a program requiring students of Pleasantville High School to complete 40 hours of community service prior to graduation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to several charitable organizations in Pleasantville, teenager studens should make themselves available for volunteering for community services as engaging in such activities will help teenagers learn the value of giving back to their community. As the organizations are in the need of volunteers, and there is a decline in the number of teenage volunteers recently, the School Board is thinking of implementing a program to make it a requirement for students to volunteer. However, making it compulsion does not necessarily guarantee the required result. There are several factors to consider before coming to the conclusion.

As the charitable organizations are in the need of volunteers, the students who work for these organizations will not be paid. For this work, they will have to work on their own will for the betterment of others who are in need. If the School Board forces them to work for community, this will not be volunteering but will only be an act to be done to graduate. This will not play any role in making teenagers learn the value of charity or community service. In contradiction, it might create negative opinions on students' mind about these organizations and community services.

Moreover, the given argument does not give any details of the academic syllabus of the high school students. It might be possible that the students find it difficult to focus on studies if they spend their time on volunteering activities. High school is a crucial part in students' life as after this, they have to decide what to pursue in life. Entrance exam for universities and career counselling might leave students with no time to go for volunteering for these organizations. If the students are forced to spend 40 hours on community services prior to graduation, these will have a negative impact on students' academic result.

There is no doubt that it is important for youngsters to learn the value of community service and engage in such activities. But a compulsion of 40 hours of community service prior to graduation may make students dislike the community services or hinder their future plans. Therefore, the Pleasantville School Board should come up with a more student-friendly program or the charitable organizations should find other ways to gather volunteers.