The following appeared in an editorial in a local newspaper.

"Commuters complain that increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center has doubled their commuting time. The favored proposal of the motorists' lobby is to widen the highway, adding an additional lane of traffic. Opponents note that last year's addition of a lane to the nearby Green Highway was followed by a worsening of traffic jams on it. Their suggested alternative proposal is adding a bicycle lane to Blue Highway. Many area residents are keen bicyclists. A bicycle lane would encourage them to use bicycles to commute, it is argued, thereby reducing rush-hour traffic."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The given local newspaper editorial discusses the issue of increased rush-hour traffic on Blue Highway between the suburbs and the city center which has doubled the commuting time of residents. The two proposals are provided with one for adding an additional lane of traffic and other for adding a bicycle lane to the highway. However, the latter one is based on a number of doubtful assumptions and therefore unconvincing. Certain questions need to be answered before accepting this proposal.

The favored proposal of motorist's lobby to widen the highway by adding an additional lane is refused by the opponents by giving the reason that the similar solution used by Green Highway resulted in an opposite effect. However, it is not necessary that the same consequences will follow with Blue Highway. It can be possible that the number of commuters increased after the addition of the new lane. Considering all the problems faced by Green Highway, the given proposal should be modified by figuring out the solutions to those problems.

Coming to the suggested solution of adding a bicycle lane, the assumption that bicyclists are one of the significant source of the traffic on the highway needs to be substantiated. The statement that many area residents are keen bicyclists is not enough of the evidence to conclude that they cause the traffic. It can be possible that the traffic is mostly caused by motorbikes, cars and other vehicles, and not bicycles. Therefore, adding a bicycle lane will not be any helpful in reducing the traffic.

Moreover, it can also not be concluded that the people will surely consider using bicycle for commuting once the bicycle lane is added. Even though the residents may be keen bicyclists but this does not mean they will use bicycle to go to their office. Using bicycle takes more time and energy and one may not consider it over automobiles. So, to accept this proposal, it should be first confirmed with the residents if they are willing to switch to bicycles for commuting.

Both the proposals seem plausible but are proved not convincing enough to be implemented. The problems faces by Green Highway should be considered before adding the additional lane on traffic. And if it is not feasible, certain questions such as what are the real source of traffic and are the residents willing to use bicycle for commuting should be answered before applying the other solution.