An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

Doctors play an important role in the current version of society and I believe this will continued as long as human specie exists. Doctors are the sole entity on whom human must trust the most among the roles of the society. Doctors play a role of water in arid desert. Without doctor, society will be an inhospitable place. Therefore, it is a responsibility of doctor to adhere to ethics. It is a responsibility of doctor to make themselves deserve this trust of people.

I believe doctors are well educated and enough trained to fulfill all the needs of the patient. An ailing patient should have easy access to doctor's record because if there is a critical surgery to be done and the doctor is callow and inexperienced, patient cannot handover his/her life in doctor's hand. But let's say, doctor treating the patient is expertise in his/her work, access to his/her history of surgeries should not matter.

But just by accessing the the history of the doctor's work may not provide sufficient evidence to prove that the doctor can treat the ailment. It may happen that the record of treating similar patients are fake and made by a dishonest doctor himself/herself.

There should be videos or photos created by the patients to prove that doctor is actually competant to treat the treatment.

It is not only responsibility of doctor to maintain records, but also hospital should maintain the records of doctors successful operations. If the hospital seems to be a decent place for the treatment, there are high chances doctors working there are also genuinely competant at what they do.

Question comes to the confidentiality. A doctor may think his/her history should be kept private, in that case patient might not be able to view his/her records. Therefore, it is always wise to have one doctor among the family members. Patients are paying heavy costs to have a successful treatment, not for a naiive doctor to play an experiment.

But if all the patients start selecting the doctors to get treated on the basis of their history, the inexperienced doctors will hardly get any chance to kick start their career. New doctors can work under the guidance of any reputed and well known senior doctor as an assistance.

I believe, if the surgery or say treatment is not critical enough then access to doctor's history is not that important but if the treatment is critical patients ought to have access to doctor's records.