The following is from a memo from the advertising director of the Super screen Movie Production Company.

According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

It may be true that allocating a huge share of budget to advertising can create awareness among people and people may start attending movies produced by Super Screen, but there are many stated and understated assumptions on which the author's argument depends.The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company fails ought to address evidences that can validate the argument presented.

It might be possible that the survey or research conducting authority has become stringent since past year as compared to studies held in the years before. The stricter authority is anticipating a higher amount of financial returns, because the new movies produced by Super Screen Production House are high budget movies. Only a certain class of the society can afford to see the movie in a cinema hall; rest all people prefer to see it at home, which might lead to lesser returns. Movie tickets might have become expensive now. Also, The evolution of the OTT platforms can also impact the percentage of people going to cinema halls for movies. Author should appropriately address the assumptions stated above.

Author should mention what kind of movies does Super Screen produce? It might be possible that Super Screen Company has started producing more documentaries than dramatic movies. Documentaries can be penchant for fewer type of people in the society as compared to dramatic movies. Author should acknowledge these assumptions without which the argument holds no water.

Yes, allocating a high percentage of budget to advertising may increase awareness of the movies among the people but it does not guarantee the returns. Author should mention facts and figures about the cost required for advertising and analysis showing expected ROIs. It might be possible that the new movies produced by Super Screen Production Company don't have a convincing content. In that case, even though the marketing strategies are improved, people will still avoid attending these movies.

As evidenced, author fails to present a cogent argument to convince the owners to take a position. Author should present a meticulous study for the company to come up with a strong decision.