The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

It may be true that encouraging Autotech to build automobile manufacturing plant in the city of Hillview can eradicate the problem of unemployment in the city, but the author's argument depends on many stated and unstated assumptions. It may be possibe that this decision may prove fruitful for the city of Hillview but there might be consequences to this decision. Author should carefully address those consequences and provide a well articulated argument.

First of all, is the serious unemployment problems only faced by the people of Hillview or is it faced by every nearby towns or is it faced by the whole nation? If there is an economic depression of the whole nation, building an automobile manufacturing plant alone cannot abate this issue, though it may be slighly helpful.

Secondly, encouraging the construction of automobile manufacturing company comes with a price. Automobile company may increase sound, air or water pollution. What is the amount of sound produced by the manufacturing plant? What is the amount of gas generated by the plant? Author should place the numbers showing whether the construction of manufacturing plant will be innocuous to the environment or not?

Thirdly, Author has mentioned Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. Author should be able to put correct reasoning: why did the former comapany abandon? Are the people of the city not interested in working in the city? Do they want to migrate to neighbouring meteropolitan cities for employment? Without a proper justification to these doubts, argument holds no water.

Finally, whether the offering of significant tax incentives will attract the company to build the manufacturing plant in Hill View? What is the exact tax incentives that can attract the company? Whether the figure is permissible by the City Council? Author should answer these question, and this can help city council to decide whether the new plan would be fruitful to the city or not.

As evidenced, author's argument depends on many stated and understated assumptions. Author should provide a cogent argument which can lead to a position, whether encouraging the construction of new manufacturing automobile plant is a wise decision?