The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

"In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech

automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a

perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left

unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year.

am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives

to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the

recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these

questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the author of this argument suggests that, in ordet to reduce the tension of unemploymet in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile plant. Which will lead to employment oppurtunity for the surrounding people which were left unemployed due to abandan of computech company. Thus the author asks the council to authorize a larger campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make town attractive to Autotech to open up its plant. At first glance this argument seems plausible. But after scrutinizing, the argument seems flawed as it depends upon unwarranted assumptions and unsupported statements which does not add up.

To start with, the author of argument suggests that, as Autotech opens up its company in the town it would lead to alleviate the unemployemt issue. How can this statement be proved? Is any supporting survey or stathestical data proviede for evidence? What was the leading cause for such great number of unemployment or is there a need to educate those people with new technology which will help to make up their stand in this rapidly growing world? All these questions need to be answered before validating the argument.

Additionally, Even if the company setup its plant in the town with what guarrenty it states that the new company will hier its employers for that town and not form some its neighbouring town. Also, would there be eniough employmets opportunity to alleviate its unemployment. Because of such rapid devlopment of technology, maximum of work is being done with the help of robots and automated machines and such is the case with modern automobile industry. Due to which the plants requiremnt od employees is very limited. Thus such kind of flawed reasoning would not help to reduce unemployment.

To add, on what basis the author suggests that Hillview landfiled would be the best place to set up the plant? By doing so if the natural habitat leaving in that area gets disturbed and would lead to disaterous effects on environment. Then such kind of industrial devlopment is worthless as it would lead to devastating moto of selfishness by exploiting environment to employ ourselfs.

Also, the author asks to peovide tax incentives and larger campagn to cajol the company. But by doing so will it surely affect the decision of the company to set up a plant in hissview? By providing tax incentives would affect service provided by the government to its citizens leading to greater devastative effects.

In conclusion, the argumen, as of now, relies on unwarranted and flawerd assumptions and deed to be evaluated and answer all the above questions to prove the validity of the argument.