"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

This editorial recommends the prohibition of stakeboarding in central plaza in order to return the business in central plaza to its previous high levels. In order to substantiate his claims author has expressed that the number of shopper in the central plaza have been steadily decreasing over the past two years and on the other hand there is drastic increase in the stakeborading popularity in that area. So author makes several dubious assumptions and blames the stakeboarder’s as the reason for fall in the business. This argument is logically flawed in several critical aspects.

To begin with the author unfairly assumes that the number of shoppers in central plaza has been steadily decreasing due to the increase in the skateboarding popularity. The fails to consider other probable reasons for the decrease in the shoppers in the central plaza like there might be a rise in the number of shopping destinations in the city and the shoppers started preferring the new shopping places than the central plaza. So the author should provide more substantial evidence such as a through survey or poll of the consumers avoiding the central plaza because of the stakeboardering activity.

Secondly, The author claims that there has been a dramatic increase in the amount of vandalism and litter throughout the plaza and unreasonably links this litter and vandalism to the stakeboaders. The visitor of central plaza might very well be possible reason for littering around and poor maintenance of hygiene and cleanliness. On there hand people involving in the skateboarding are less likely to be involved in the vandalism, city criminal gangs are much more likely to be involved in vandalisms might be a possible reason for vandalism. These active presence of these gangs might be one of the possible for drop in the general shopper in the central plaza.

Finally author makes his flawed assumptions that prohibition of the skate holders shall help in the returning the business to its previous high levels. These stakesboaders might be the very reason that the shoppers are visiting the central plaza to enjoy their performances and banning them may further decrease the nymber of shoppers. On the other hand these skateboaders may provide a great deal of business in the central plaza and prohibiting them can further weaken the business.

In conclusion the argument is based on several flawed unwarranted assumptions, it fails to make a convincing case that prohibiting the stakeboarding in the central will lead to return of business to its previous highs. For the above mentioned reasons the argument cant be deemed persuasive.