Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

University is a place where students learn many new things. Should university provide degrees with a diverse set of courses or a specific set of speciality courses? The author claims that universities should only allow students to take up specific required courses as students would prefer to follow directions rather than making their own choices. I concede with the authors view however, I believe that universities should set specific required courses at the same also allow students to take certain electives as this provides them with better exposure on to various subjects and expand their knowledge. I feel this way for several reasons.

First of all, the approach for making a curriculum depends on the level of degree on is talking about. At an undergraduate level universities should mandate students to take up certain specific courses as per the degree requirement and should also them to select courses from various different backgrounds as electives. This gives them an opportunity to explore their interests and take up graduate studies accordingly. For instance most universities allow undergraduate students to take up electives. As Steve Job the founder of Apple Macntosh shares his life experience during his college days he has attended a course on Calligraphy which is divergent from a course from his regular engineering course has helped him in creating the option of various font types in our Mac. He attributes the font options in computers to that elective course that he has attended. So it is imperative that universities provide students with option of electives so that they can explore their interests well.

In Contrast, When it comes to graduate level courses there should be specific set speciality course manadeted for the students as it helps them increasing their future academic and employment opportunities, but not because it helps them in following the guidelines. Furthermore, taking up speciality course is often important at a gradute level as students with a speciality knowledge is are preferred by the companies than students without specific speciality.

So In conclusion, universities should take a dialectic approach and provide students specific set of required courses at the same time also allow them to take elective from wide variety of subjects in order to expand their knowledge and explores their interests and pursue them further