Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students — like people in general — prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Many colleges today offer a plethora of elective courses for students to choose from. The speaker argues that instead of colleges providing options to students, they should restrict the courses to only required ones as students prefer to follow directions rather than making their own decisions. It may be true in some cases but such restriction would only cause problems for students who want to specifically choose the courses they want to study.

There are many students who have a clearly defined aim and want to study courses relevant to that. For example, consider a scenario where an engineering student in computer engineering field is admitted into a college. He might have specific interest to have a career in Computer Networking out of a variety of available domains such as database systems, computer architecture, ethical hacking, and many more. So in this case he would like to study subjects which would improve his skills and knowledge in computer networking. But, if the university restricts the courses and excludes this subject from the curriculum then it would not be in the best interest of that student.

Moreover, due to the myriad of courses available at a university, restricting syllabus to required courses might exclude many subjects which are of specific interests for many students. For example, universities might not include some subjects such as ethical hacking or machine learning in the list of courses which would dishearten those students who wanted to study these subjects because these had a direct bearing on their career.

The only case when have a restricted curriculum can prove to be useful is when student is unaware of his field of interest. In that scenario the student might not be able to make a decision about which elective courses he wants to study. But even in that case guidance and adequate counselling given to such students would be more beneficial than simply limiting the number of courses to necessary ones.

In conclusion, giving students choice to choose their electives is clearly in best interests of students. On the other hand, restricting curriculum to some specific courses by a college will only motivate students to not consider that particular college due to lack of options. Therefore, universities and colleges should not restrict the courses a student should can study.