Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In today's world, population is increasing at a dramatic rate. To find a place to live and gather more resources for utilization humans are progressively intruding into natural habitat of animals and plants. Although it is necessary to expand into these natural areas to support the increasing population, it is now more critical to protect the wilderness areas so as to not disturb their natural state. Nations should therefore enact strict laws to ensure that these natural areas are preserved.

As population grows, people need houses to live. And due to urbanization, even more forests are cleared to construct new houses and buildings. As a result the ecosystem of that area is negatively affected. Moreover with industrialization, a plethora of new manufacturing plants are constructed which get most of their raw materials from forests and discard the chemical wastes into rivers. This has deleterious affects on the native flora and fauna of that region.

There are many instances when wildlife, due to destruction of their natural habitat, has resorted to cities in search of food and has attacked humans. Also due to human activity many species have become extinct while many more are endangered. Moreover, due to deforestation the amount of carbon dioxide is increasing in the atmosphere, a prominent factor which leads to global warming.

An urgent need is to ameliorate the situation and take preventive measures to protect the nature. This would have many positive affects. First and foremost, wild animals would not come to cites and urban areas if their natural habitat is not disturbed. This would result in a perfect balance between the humans and the wildlife. Secondly, laws against deforestation will ensure that cutting of forests is regulated and there would be no detrimental impact to the environment due to over-cutting. Soil erosion and global warming would be significantly reduced. Strict laws against industries which dump harmful chemicals into water bodies will help to ensure that water bodies like rivers and oceans are not polluted and aquatic animals are not affected.

It can be unequivocally concluded that it is necessary to protect the nature to ensure sustainable development. And the best way to do that is for the countries to make laws to protect environment and implement them strictly.