"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director of the Super Screen claims that to reach a wider group of audience the company should allocate a greater share of its total budget to advertising next year. The director however makes some unwarranted assumptions like the quality of the movies produced by the company is good, people lack awareness about these movies and that the positive reviews for the movies have increased. Due to lack of sufficient evidence in its support, the author's argument stands weak.

First and foremost, the author's primary argument that lack of awareness among people is the reason for decreased viewership of the movies, is without justification. Maybe people are aware of these movies and there's a shift of interest towards other entertainment activities such as outdoor sports like swimming, hockey, and soccer, since the last year. Other possible reason is that many other companies have started producing content which fares better compared to the one produced by Super Screen and people are inclined towards watching the superior quality content.

Moreover, the author mentions that the percentage of postitive reviews has risen during the last year. It necessarily doesn't mean that the number of positive reviews have actually increased. It could be that those people who used to give negative reviews simply stopped watching the movies and rating the content which would result in an increase in the number of favourable reviews. Also, there's no information about how many reviewers actually rated the movies. If the number of reviewers is small then it would not represent the opinion of the all the people and the author's argument cannot be taken seriously.

Apart from this, there's no guarantee that increasing the budget share for Super Screen will result in its content reaching out to more people. As mentioned earlier, if people are already aware then increasing the budget would have no impact towards increasing viewership. Also making people aware does not necessarily mean that they will start watching movies produced by the company. The author overlooked other reasons mentioned above which could account for decreased attendance for such movies.

All in all, the author's arguments are unwarranted and thus unpersuasive. To convince me he must provide sufficient statistical data about the number of people who review the movies. He also needs to justify that viewership decreased just because of lack of awareness among people and nothing else. In the absence of this information his argument is unconvincing as it stands.