Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The business manager of the television station states that over the past few years the new program has progressively devoted more time to national news in contrast to weather and local news. He also mentions that viewers complained about channel's decreased coverage of the latter. In addition he also says that local businesses have withdrawn their contracts for advertisements. So in order to attract more viewers and prevent any more revenue loss the manager suggests that weather and local news coverage be restored to its previous levels. However I think that the author overlooks certain flaws which renders his argument weak.

First and foremost, author mentions no relation between the businessses that used to advertise during late-night news programs and the kind of news the channel shows. It is possible that the local businesses cancelled their contracts with the channel for entirely other reasons such as advertisements not being substantial in increasing their revenue from business or increased prices by the channel for adverstisment. In this case restoring local and weather news to original levels would not make the the local busniesses start advertising again with the channel.

Moreover, even if local businesses return to the channel, there's no guarantee that the news station would not lose money. They could be other peripheral costs which the channel would not be able to recover even after profits made from charging local businesses. For example the station might be employing far more journalists and reporters compared to past years or it could be using expensive equipment to improve their infrastructure. Therefore to ensure that the staion would not lose revenue author needs to dismiss the above mentioned assumption with proper evidence.

Even assuming that weather and local news are restored to past levels, it does not guarantee that the viewership would increase. The quality of news and its way of presentaion might not be good enough to attract more people. In addition, people might be busier than they were in past years and therefore do not have much time nowadays to watch news. In this scenario, devoting same time as earlier to local and weather news would not help the station with increased viewership.

In the absence of all the above mentioned flaws and their reasonable rejection with evidence by that author, his argument is weak and unpersuasive. To prove that increased revenue and viewership would result after restoring local and weather news to former level, he needs to provide evidence to support that local businesses will return to the station and help the company make revenue. He also needs to provide support for the assumption that number of people following the station would increase as a result. In the absence of evidence the author's argument is unconvincing as it stands.