A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The speaker states that all the students of a country should follow the same standardized national curriculum until they enter college. I think students should be taught all the subjects until they become of age when they can decide a field for which they are passionate and like to pursue further education in that field. To provide equal opportunity to all the students same curruculam is necessary. However certain traditional and cultural things can always vary depending upon the region.

Many diverse cultures can exist within a country and for students to know learn about all these is not possible. Consider the country India which has 29 states and all these have their unique culture, language and traditions. It is imperative for children in a particular region to learn about the culture of that area. For example, people from the state of Punjab would prefer to read, write and speak in Punjabi. Therefore it makes sense that curriculum of students in Punjab includes learning Punjabi. It is however not possible for them to learn regional languages of all the 28 states.

In constrast subjects such as nation's history, mathematics and science which are not specific to the culture should have the same syllabus for all students. If some are taught different things than the others then it would be difficult to evaluate them on the basis of a common measure. As most colleges prefer to test students before accepting their applications and most preferrable means for that is to conduct a test, for fair results and judgement they expect that students with the same educational background and knowledge appear for the test. Therefore in this case having same curriculum makes sense.

Moreover having the same curriculum nation wide makes it easier to maintain the content being taught. For example consider that for science the same textbook is used throughout the country. If some amends need to be made in the book for example adding or removing a particular chapter, it would be much easier to make the change and propogate it all over the nation. Hence in this case too having the same curriculum makes sense. This however cannot be extended till college as by that time students must focus on studying subjects in which they want to make a career.

In conclusion having the same curriculum nation wide is beneficial in the aspects discusseed above as compared to having it different for various regions within a country. But some regional content can definitely vary for a count