The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Alta Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Alta Manufacturing had thirty percent more on-the-job accidents than

nearby Panoply Industries, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts

believe that a significant contributing factor in many on-the-job accidents is fatigue and sleep

deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Alta

and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour

so that our employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

The Vice President of Alta Manufacturing states that on-the-job accidents at its plant were 30 per cent more than the Panoply Industries last year.

The president recommends that the plant should reduce each work shift by one hour so that employees can get adequate amount of sleep.

To support his argument president mentions that job accidents are due to fatigue and sleep deprivation among the workers as believed by the experts. I think that the assumptions made by the speaker

have inherent flaws which render it unconvincing.

First of all, there's no statistical data provided that proves the significant role of workers' insomaniac and tired state in the job accidents. It's a mere belief which the experts hold.

There could be myriad of reasons for accidents. For example, workers could be more careless in handling risky tasks or the safety measures are not strictly followed at Alta industry. Moreover there's no

data to support the credibility of more accidents in Alta than Panoply. It could be that accidents in Panoply plant are not reported which would make the assumption irrelevant.

Even if data is correct that Alta actually witnesses more accidents, it's difficult to believe that only one hour difference between the shifts of two plants causes significantly more fatigue among workers of Alta.

In addition there could be more number of workers working in Alta which would increase the proportion of accidents at Alta greater as compared to Panoply even when the number of accidents per worker is approximately same for both industries.

Moreover there's no guarantee that reducing the shifts by one hour will increase the amount of time for which the workers sleep. They might use this additional hour for a plethora of other activities. For example,

some workers who otherwise do not get time to workout because of hectic schedule might use this extra hour to engage in some physical activity rather than sleep. Some others might spend it with their families. In such cases

reducing the shift hours would hardly have any impact to mitigate the fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers.

If the author would have given the above mentioned counter arguments and rejected them with sound reasoning the argument to reduce shift hour would have been convincing. But without support for his assumptions the author's

arguemnt is unconvincing at it stands. To conclude that decreasing time of shift would actually reduce the number of accidents author needs to prove that workers will spend that hour sleeping and it would significantly decrease

fatigue among workers and that fatigue and tiredness are actually the main reasons for majority of accidents at Alta Manufacturing.