Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty.

The author claims that Adams Realty is superior real estate firm to Fitch Realty and argues that to sell home quickly one must use Adams Realty. However the argument is flawed because of the lack of sufficient evidence. The writer's argument is primarily based on the unwarranted assumptions that average sales and number of workers at Adams are more, rendering its main conclusion that Adams is better than Fitch weak.

First and foremost, author provides no historical data to support his point that Adams' revenue was consistently higher than Fitch for previous years. Last year's revenue at Adams could be an aberration. Moreover, more average could be due to one exceptionally high valued sale at Adams as compared to majority of the sales being of higher value at Fitch. Due to lack of sufficient statistical data and previous ten year records of sales for both the firms, the author's argument is weak.

Moreover, what was true 10 years ago is not necessary to be true in the current period. The author states that 10 years ago his home which was listed on Fitch took four months to sell as compared to 1 month time which Adams took to sell his house last year. It's possible that 10 years ago economy was in poor condition and all the real estate firms including Adams were performing miserably. There's no evidence to support the fact that 10 years ago Adams outperformed Fitch and has done so consistenlty for the last 10 years. Even if Adams was better than Fitch a decade ago, it does not imply that it is better than Fitch presently. Fitch could have improved its efficiency throughout the years. Only in the presensce of additional data can a credible conclusion be made.

Lastly, comapring the number of agents between the two firms would provide valid conclusion only when the efficiency of workers at two firms is comparable. Even if number of workers at Adams is more than at Fitch, it's possible that workers at Fitch are more experienced and talented which results in higher number of sales for Fitch. Moreover agents at Fitch could be selling properties at a faster pace than Adams. Just one example by author of his house being sold within a month last year cannot be generalized for all properties at Adams. May be because of significantly higher number of slighly less valued sales than Adams have resulted in Fitch's lesser average. Since author provides no evience to support the similar efficiency of employees at two firms, therefore his argument cannot be considered serious.

If author would have mentioned all the above arguments and rejected them with proper evidence, his argument would have been persuasive.But in the absence of proper proof his argument is unconvincing as it stands.