Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that investing in good-quality protective gear and reflective equipment will reduce the risk of injuries among skaters substantially. To support his assumption the author cites some statistics from hospital which claims that 75 percent of injured people were not wearing any protective clothing or light-reflecting materials. However sound the claim might seem in the first glance, it fails to convince me due to scant statistical information to bolster the claim. Moreover the author's claim is primarily based on unwarranted assumption that wearing protective gear will abate the risk of injuries, rendering its main conclusion unpersuasive.

First and foremost, there's no information given by the author about the number of hospitals from which the data was analyzed. Furthermore, the author did not mention what kinds of injuries did the patients suffer and whether those could be avoided by wearing protective gear or not. For example, consider a scenario in which a skater suffers fracture in the foot due to some pothole on the road. In that case, protective gear would not have been of much use to avert this.

Also, the writer's claim that the absence of light-reflecting materials such as clip-on lights or glow-in-the-dark wrist pads is also contributing towards injuries among scaters, is unjustified as there's no data to support that any of those injuries occured during the night. If most of the injuries occurred during the day then using reflectors won't have any impact in ameliorating the situation.

Moreover, there's no information on what exactly is the cause of accidents which the skaters encounter. May be most of the injuries are suffered due to collision with vehicles or crashing from heights while performing some precarious stunts. Since most of these incidents lead to fatal injuries, investing in protective equipment might not have any significant effect towards reducing the risk of being severely injured. Also, investing in gear doee not necessarily mean that people would start using it.

To conclude, I must say that if only the author would have mentioned above arguments and rejected them with sound reasoning and evidence, his argument could have been convincing. But, due the lack of sufficient proof in its support, his argument is unconvincing as it stands. To convince me he must cite the number of hospitals referred for statistical data, cause of accidents and provide evidence to support that protective gear will actually result in reduced injuries among skaters.