Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author claims that the roller-skaters have to equip high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment to reduce the degree of injury in accidents. To support her argument, she cites a statistics which indicates that within the group of people, 72% of people had not been wearing any protective clothing or any light-reflecting material. This argument seems plausible first, however, careful scrutiny reveals that this argument has several logical problems.

To begin with, based on the survey which indicates the injured people had not been equipping protective clothing or light-reflecting material, the author wrongly assumes that the accidents for the people was result of lacking of those safe-guarding clothes. However, the real reason of accidents could not be in whether they had been wearing those clothes. For example, the lack of safety rule for roller-skating of people could be reason or because the group was roller-skating in streets or parking lots, not park, car drivers could be real reason. If this is true, we cannot be convinced by this argument.

Secondly, based on the survey which 75% of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing or reflecting materials, the author assumes that the 75% people can represent all roller-skaters. However, those people could not be common case of roller-skaters. For example, roller-skater who do not roller skating in parking lots or streets could well wear protective equipment. If she cannot explain why she thinks the group can be representative of all roller-skaters, this argument is not cogent.

Finally, based on the survey which indicates the injured people had not been equipping protective clothing or light-reflecting material, the author assumes that high-quality equipment is more efficient to prevent severe injuries. However, the quality of safety equipment could not be related to the degree of injuries. Common sense tells us that the safety equipment is minimal method for protecting oneself from dangerous situations. However, no matter how strong the equipment is, situation in which those equipment is helpless could occur. If she cannot rule out this problem, this argument is not cogent.

To summarize, this argument is still dubious as it stands. To make this argument more persuasive, the author has to explain why the group can be generalized and to give additional information which show the real reason of accidents. To evaluate better, we must know that the high-quality equipment is really helpful to reduce severe injuries