Hospital statistics regarding people who go to the emergency room after roller-skating accidents indicate the need for more protective equipment. Within that group of people, 75 percent of those who had accidents in streets or parking lots had not been wearing any protective clothing (helmets, knee pads, etc.) or any light-reflecting material (clip-on lights, glow-in-the-dark wrist pads, etc.). Clearly, the statistics indicate that by investing in high-quality protective gear and reflective equipment, roller skaters will greatly reduce their risk of being severely injured in an accident.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument suggests that with the statistics of people who go to emergency rooms after getting hurt in roller-skating shows a direct causation with the lack of protective equipment. However, the logic is behind this argument clearly does not stand, and many aspects of this issue are missing.

75% looks like a number that should suggest a higher correlation, but the number does not look at other aspects, such as age. Roller-skating is one of the sports that people get easily get hurt, and knowingly not wearing a helmet or knee pads can also comes from the lack of maturity of the skater. how many of those skaters are teenagers? do they also happen to be the same group that does not have much experience in roller-skating? if age, maturity, and education plays a bigger role here than equipment, maybe we should focus on providing better training for new skaters, or giving schools and parents the tools to fully prepare their children for roller-skating.

Another obvious flaw of logic in this argument is the location. streets and parking lots are both places with more cars and busier traffic. it is not surprising to have a higher rate of injury as high as 75% in those places. what is the rate in other safer places, such as neighborhood, public parks, college campus, or even professional roller-skating space? maybe location is a more influential factor. maybe skating in a safer place without any equipment is better than skating in the middle of the street or parking lot with all the protective gears. we will need more statistics to know. Again, this argument dismissed these other important factors.

Not analysing comprehensively is just small part of the problem. if we look at the assumption of this argument, the bigger issue is that it only blames the skaters, the victims, should do and how can the victims do better, rather than what infrastructure is lacking, what responsibilities the public safety should partake, and how educational institutions and parents can do better. if a city has a significant enough amount of roller-skaters, is the city building enough infrastructures for them? when we see an injury rate as high as 75%, what is our public safety department doing to lower that rate and make our public space safer? schools and families, are they paying enough attention and guidance to make sure skaters, especially new skaters, are informed and educated on how to protect themselves? when injuries happens so often in public places, we should hold related people and institutions accountable, not blaming the victims who are already hurting.

Overall, from the smaller issues such as not considering other factors such as location and age, to bigger issues such as the understated assumption of this argument, this statement has many flaws. I suggest it includes all the areas mentioned to better advise roller-skaters.