A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

The argument proposed in the topic suggest any person who knowingly commits a crime should lose their civil rights and their previleage as a worker in the labor market. I am afraid this argument is vague on its definition of social contract and holds a rather narrow, unforgiving view on social structure and what civil and human rights means.

Firstly, let's focus on the social contract mentioned in the argument. Every country, even different regions within one nation, has drastically different laws and common sense on what social contract means. The same issue can be seen under varies lens in different part of the country. abortion, for example, and performing abortion is completely illegal in any form in the state of Alabama; but it is legal and welcomed in states like California and New York. different cultures and different countries also have very different approach to the same issue due to historical and political reasons. In China, drug is a very sensitive social issue. Medical drugs are all strictly monitored by authorities and regulated by the government. All forms of recreational drugs are illegal,and any person involves in trade of recreational drug is severely punished with jail time and monetary punishment. Whereas in the United states, recreational drug, such as marijuana, is legal in many states, and with the appropriate notes from doctors, people can use them in schools and at work. The same logic applies to committing a crime knowingly--whether it violates the social contract or not largely depends on the context. it is not thoughtful to conclude that it is unacceptable or retain any civil right without checking the context.

civil rights is another part of the argument that needs clarification. it is unclear which type of civil rights the author is indicating. Surely, the person who commits crimes and goes to jail will temporarily lose some of his/her freedom of movement, which can be considered as one of many civil rights. but even for criminals in jail, they still have other basic civil rights, such as their freedom of speech, their human rights to receive education, for labor, and more. it is a haste to deny all the civil rights for a person just because of knowingly committing a crime.

As much as I strongly oppose to this statement, thinking from the other side of this argument, I can see why people might agree with this claim. even though civil rights and human rights are largely protected for almost everyone, no matter what s/he might have done in their life, there are people who are personally hurt or traumatized by others who knowingly commits crime. I have no doubt that I would feel very differently about this argument if, for example, my family members are murdered by someone knowingly commits crimes. Or people who knowingly commits crime truly did something so horrible that is beyond our sympathy. those are extreme cases, and we still need to evaluate those cases with the context and long discussions. Either way, we can not jump into conclusions as the argument does.