The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership is much needed in every sector of our society: business, government, education...and a good leader not only need to have the skills of motivating people with various backgrounds to work together, but also need to be assertive, look forward with the bigger picture in mind, and sometimes, make tough decisions in order to survive or thrive in the industry. Sense of cooperation is crucial for any good leader; sense of competition is at least equally important. I can only agree with half of the satement, and here is why.

Collaboration is the key to any industry, and being a leader means s/he needs to be able to have a group of people work closely together as a group. In a business setting, leaders need to put sales and accounting together so that sales team knows what are the dominant markets and what markets have potential. The accounting teams will have a better understanding of the sales workflow and how to cut unnecessary costs for the company. At universities, the school president needs to make sure people across campus can work together, so when student is missing classes, professors can talk to students' college advisors so that they can check on the students; when the student is sick or injured, the college nurse can communicate with the athletic coach and advise on how to better help the student to feel better and perform well in athletic games. Leadership means to be able to have people work collaboratively as a team.

Competition, however, is equally important for good leadership. Competition is inevitable in any industry, and a leader who only knows how to collaborate is not able to lead the team to success or even survive in the brutal competition with others. Technology industry is among the most competitive industries nowadays: new products are coming up every single year, smart people with new ideas are being hired so often. A leader needs to have a strong sense of competition so that s/he can move the team to work not just forward but also upward, not just stronger but also better compare to other competitiors. Take environmental issue as an example, Starbucks starts to ban plastic stralls, a few months later, companies with metal or silicon stralls are coming out. A leader in food and beverage industry needs to think on their feet and make sure that they are taking their responsibility and stay competitive in this movement to not lose their customer base.

Even inside any company, leader needs to create a safe environment where staffs are working with each other, but they are also striving to be better and more competitive workers. At the end of the day, employees are the people who drive the company, and a more competitive, capable group of employee can move the entire team further.

It takes more than just a degree or years of work experience to be a good leader. Leadership needs a good balance of collaboration and competition to move the team, the organization, and even the entire industry to become better. In the age of globalization, we need more leaders in every industry who can do that successfully.