The argument to be analyzed is as follows:

The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The director of the production company concludes in his memo that the reason for lower attendance this past year is lack of advertising to the public, not the movie quality itself. However, there are multiple aspects on this issue that has been ignored in the memo and director's conclusion, in my opinion, is weak and not convincing.

first of all, note that the percentage of positive reviews, not the number of positive review, has increased. A higher percentage does not necessarily gurantee the move quality has not gone down. With a lower attendance, people who still go to see those movies and are willing to take the time to write a review are likely to be loyal fans already, and it is no surprise that a group of movie fans will leave rather positive feedbacks on movies. we also don't know what is the demographic for those who still write reviews. what is the age range? what are their watching habits? it is also possible that certain generation is used to the movies from this production company so the majority of the reviews comes from this age group. there are so many factors that are directly related, and we simply do not have the data to make any conclusion here.

Another remianing question is what type of movies are shown this year that is different than other years, and what type of new service is the production company providing this year. As we know, some movies require specific equipments, such as 3D glasses and iMax screen, in order to fully show the sound and effects of the movies. is the company showing any of those movies this year but not providing those equipement? is that why the number of attendance went down? Did the company make any upgrades in the theater, such as reclining chairs or better ticket service? that is likely to lead to a higher percentage of positive reviews. All these important information is not provided in the memo.

As the technology advances, ways of wathching movies is changing, too. With the rapid development and abundant streaming service available, people might be more used to watch movies in the comfort of their own homes. this new trend could lead to low attendance as well. there are already movies available for purchase on services like Netflix or even Instagram, what is the strategy for a traditional movie production company to compete and move forward? Should Super screen move production starts to make movies that are compatible to streaming service in order to win the viewers back? How to increase the number, not just the percentage, of the positive reviews? Clearly the company director is not looking at the bigger picture or thinking through other possible solutions.

In conclusion, the director is missing many parts of this issue, some are small, but some are big and will change the fate of the compay. For the director, thinking through the problem and looking at every aspect is the first step towards an effective solution, and more advertising to the public is certainly not the one.