Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

dr. karp's arugment is actually a threefold: 1) children talk about their biological parents more than the entire village thus they are not reared by their biological parents, not the village, 2) dr. field's conclusion is inaccurate thus the observation method is invalid, and 3) interview-centered approach will yield better and more accurate results. All three arguments have obvious flaws.

first off, there is no causation relationship between the time spent talking about something and the upbringing of someone. if children were asked solely about their parents by karp, it is no surprise that their answers mostly involve their parents. there is no information on what type of questions were asked, so we can not conclude that the questions are asked in an unbiased way. even if children do talk about their parents more than the village, that does not logically lead to karp's conclusion. In fact, the logic for the exact opposite conclusion also works: because they are not raised by their parents, thus not having any special relationship to their parents like other children outside of the village, they are particularly fascinated and fixed on their parents. we can see that this simple observation does not necessarily invalid field's conclusion. we also do not know how many children talk about their parents more in the village. this phenomenon can be a completely outlier thus does not represent the all the children in the village.

even if we assume karp is right and field's conclusion is invalid, that does not mean field's approach is of no value to any anthropologist. it is possible that the observation method is working perfectly fine in other research topics in the past, but field did not use this method accurately.it is also likely that observation method only works the best on certain types of cases, and the one field worked on does not fit very well. there are many reasons why field's conclusion is not accurate but one failure can not discredit observation method as a whole.

just because one method did not succeed does not entail the other method is inherently better. interview-centered method might have its own flaws and is equally possible to fail if not used accurately. For example, it is harder to control the consistency of results using interview method. The results and answers from people heavily depend on who is asking the questions, what questions are asked, in what tone those questions are asked, and the time and location when those questions were asked. there are many variables that are not easily controlled. Additionally, interview method is limitted on how many people are interviewed and if people are giving out the truthful information. Not all the people in the village are equally willing to be interviewed in the first place, and for the people who were interviewed, it is not taken for granted that they are telling all the truth all the time. In conclusion, there are many flaws for interview method as well, and just because it is a different method than observation method does not mean it will yield better or successful results.

In conclusion, all three main arguments by dr. karp are clearly flawed.