Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate.

Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Writer represents two views on corporation’s social responsibility and it’s monetary responsibility. I can not agree with the assumption that these two responsibilities are mutually exclusive, in fact, corporations and society both can function better with these two duties work together. I strongly agree that big corporations need to be held socially responsible for their impact, even though it is not illegal to come after financial profits, in a long run, it is better for the company to take part in the realm outside of chasing profits.

we now live in a world of financial giants. after years of merging and buying in the early 20s century, most of the mainstream brands we see everyday in the supermarket can all be traced back to few giants. Their impact on our daily life, such as household, transportation, energy, and food, are immeasurable. they are too big to do nothing to our society besides making money. when starbucks launched the campaign of banning one-use plastic straws, the market and the customers had an immediate reaction to it. we saw more entrepreneurs making long lasting straws or straws that can be composed quickly using organic materials such as wood or bamboo. customers react positively as well, they come to starbucks more and starbucks market increased almost immediately. Their impact of doing something is sometimes just as big as not doing something. apple sells a large amount of electronics every single year, and the electronic waste is ever increasing with the new products coming out every year. Thankfully apple encourages the customers to trade their old products with either gift card or new ones, so that most of the used electronics can be recycled and the raw materials can be used to new products. Imagine starbucks decides not to promote the straw campaign, or apple lets the used electronics to waste, there will be so much more trash waited to be cleaned every year and the impact to our natural environment is immeasurable.

corporations are naturally driven by profits, and many companies realize that by combining their contribution to the society, they can actually earn more benefits in the long run. The shoe company, toms, was founded with the idea of “one for one”, when customers buy one pair of toms shoe, the company will give out one pair of shoes to the people in need. toms grows its market this way and started to become one of the most popular shoe brands. The cosmetic industry also realize what they can do to do both. after the news exposure about the animal cruelty of some cosmetic company, people stopped buying products that have done experiments to animals unethically. More and more companies starts to be more socially aware to not perform any drug test on animals, and customers starts to appreciate it through their purchases. there are so many more examples that corporations can both be socially responsible and earn profits, in fact, having more awareness on their impact usually brings more profits to the company.

legally, it is not wrong for the company to be ignorant on their social impact and only focus on chasing the profit, but the legality does not equal to morality, and laws can be changed towards morality in the long run. tobacco company in the us found out the strong correlation between tobacco usage and cancer way back in the 90s, but they choose to be silent and ambivalent when asked by the public. Later when more scientists started to speak up and more customers started to realise the impact of tobacco, it is now required by law in many states and countries that tobacco company has to print out the harm with usually disturbing picutres on the cigarette packaging. Another example that is more relevant to nowadays is the oil company. The oil company also was aware of their impact on global warming and climate change, but stayed silent over the years. As the 2020 election getting more heated, more and more presidential candidates are talking about a new deal on green energy and new policy on the traditional oil company. changes on law are eventually coming after those who decided to gain profit and being ignorant to their social responsibility.

taking social responsibility is usually a natural choice for corporations either due to their influence or the profits that can be brought. even though technically it is not illegal to only make profits, the laws are changing all the time and usually tilted towards morality, not profits.