The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

store owner proposes to reduce operating expenses at all ten stores in order to increase profit while maintaining its name of providing affordable good quality movies. store owner is impressed with the increased profits at marston store where the closing time is changed from 9pm to 6pm and eliminating some movies in the stock. there are many aspects of the issue that the owner are not looking closely enough, and it is hasty to implement the same changes to all the stores around the country

we are not sure what exactly is the reason, or reasons if there are multiple factors, that lead to the success at marston store. two factors are mentioned, such as changing the closing time to earlier and getting away of the older movies, but how each of these two factors weigh in the outcome is unknown. how would marston store be doing if it keeps the same stock of the movies but close earlier? Or the other way around, if marston keeps its closing time at 9pm but eliminate the movies older than 5 years? are there any other factors involved that we are unaware of? For example, the closing time is changed to earlier, does that mean the marston store also have fewer staffs to attend the store? it is likely that the fewer staff members plays an even bigger role on cutting the cost for marston store. we need to look into marston store and look thoroughly and in a more well-rounded manner to find all the possible factors that lead to the success. then we need to conduct a few experimental trials on the stores and gather more information from the people who are experienced and worked at marston store for a long time to know exactly which factor contributed the most to the recent success. then we will have more confidence on changing the strategy. but with the information we have now, a success is not guaranteed.

The success at one store does not necessarily mean we can do the same thing and replicate that success at other stores. it is possible that closing early only has an impact on marston because of the local work schedules that most people are available and free to shop for movies around 6pm instead of 9pm. And it is also likely that the population and the age group at marston ensures that without movies that are older than 5 years, people feel there are more options for them so that the sales number increased. we do not have any date or demographic information of any other stores in other locations, thus we can not make sure that what works at marston will also have the same impact at other locations. it is possible that other locations there are more elderly and they are more likely to rent and watch movies that are older. In that case, it is wise to increase, not decrease, the number of old movies. it is equally possible that in other locations, the people are having a more laidback lifestyle, and extending the closing hour can increase the chance for customers to stop by and rent movies, thus increasing the profits. Or maybe other store locations are very similar to marston, then we actually should implement the same strategy to other places, as the owner proposed. but we will need all of this information to decide what is the best strategy for different locations, and the cookie-cutter “one fits all” logic certainly will not work without any supportive demographic information.

changing strategy will have bigger and longer impact on a business than just changing one bit of policy on one store. Decision makers should think long and hard anytime there is a chance to change all stores at the same time. just by looking at all the information we have now, it is clearly ill-advised to implement changes at marston to all the stores of movie Galore.