The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Although the memorandum reasoning might seem logical at first glance, there are some underlying assumptions that, if false, would make the entire argument fallacious. First, it is important to understand the impacts in the revenues indicators generated by the reduction of the operating hours and by the stock reduction. Second, it is cardinal to have more information about geospatial differences.

The memorandum offers no evidence than reducing the expenses in the downtown store improved the profit and it is totally possible that the measures adopted have a negative impact in the revenue, thus, negatively impacting the profit behaviour. In this sense, it is crucial to understand what was the revenue decrease derived from the changing operating hours. It is plausible that, as we are talking of a store in downtown, most of the sells were accomplished exactly between 6:00 pm and 9:00 pm, since is the spare time of people working in the neighborhood. In other words, it is important to answer what was the impact of the measures in the revenues indicators.

Secondly, the measure related with reducing the stock might also have a negative impact in the revenues, affecting once again the profit results. In fact, the memorandum should offer more information about what percent did the old movies represented from the total parcel of the rentals. For instance, if old movies were responsible for 25% or more of the rentals, the reduced cost might not be high enough to cover the revenue lost. Therefore, as stated for the changing hours, the stock measure has also impacts in the revenues. In other words, as profit is the revenues less the costs, if the measures adopted had higher impacts in the revenues the result might be the opposite as the expected one. The company needs to shed light into the revenue impacts in order to assess whether the measures were effective and efficient or not.

Lastly, before expanding the recommendation into the 9 others stores, it is important to look for specifics that might exist among the stores located in different neighborhoods. Maybe, some locations are more willing to pay a little bit more for more broad operating hours. In addition, perhaps, some locations are more interested in old movies than others. Hence, it is fundamental that more information about the stores is offered before deciding anything about what to do with the stores.

Therefore, even if the argument could be true, there are some information that need to be added before choosing to expand the recommendation. This questions can show that the memorandum is flawed and based in spourious reasoning. Hence, before replicating the policy adopted in downtown, it is fundamental to answer at least four topics: what was the effect in the revenues? How were the sells distributed among the operating hours? What percentage did the old movies represented from the total? Are there important differences among the stores that need to be taken into account before expanding the policy?