Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

In an increasingly interdisciplinary and complex world, it is cardinal that the curriculum taught at schools and universities becomes more transversal, innovative and modern. One way of reaching this goal is to hear from the students what they would like included in their curriculum and, in the sequence, offering it to them. This position holds especially true for college and university students. However, this cannot be put as an opposition for having a minimum common curriculum. In other words, the balance between having some mandatory courses and having the possibility of choosing the others based on personal preferences is the best way of ensuring a more innovative and interdisciplinary education.

One argument supporting the claim that students should be able to be heard about their preferences in the education field is that if they are studying topics in which they are feeling happy the chances of success are higher. In other terms, students which are happy with the content are more willing to do well in tests and keep a higher performance, thus meeting the requirements. In addition, this reason is supported by the fact that studying what they like might reduce the evasion rates as well, illustrating how powerful this tool can be.

In addition, another reason is that it is time to share the responsibility of choosing the curriculum with the target group more affected by this decision: the students themselves. This practice can be very revolutionary, breaking the existing barriers between professors and students and building a more collaborative and less hierarchical educational environment. In fact, the reason why students often do not participate in the curriculum construction is that it was common to see students as not capable of knowing what is best for them. However, several studies had shown the importance of empowering students in their educational path and, in this context, being able to decide what is important to study is a very effective tool for doing so.

However, this mechanism has limitations too that should be addressed in order to avoid falling in a very simplistic and fallacious reasoning. Indeed, although it is important that students have a voice and participate, it is also important that educational institutions ensure that some minimum requirements will be met. In essence, stating that students should participate in the curriculum construction does not mean that the curriculum can be totally a reflection of the students will, particularly because it is fundamental to guarantee that a minimum will be maintained

Therefore, an alternative view to the one stated in the argument is that students should participate, but there must exist a good balance between a mandatory minimum core subjects (even if students find them boring or difficult) and a pool of subjects that might be decided by the students themselves, relying in their interests, attitudes and preferences. The balance will guarantee that the minimum is common for all students, ensuring a common ground and also that different personalities, attitudes and preferences will be respected by the educational curriculum, allowing students to find more comfort and happiness while studying.