Society should identify those children who have special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people claim that society should spot children with special talents and provide training for them at an early age to develop their talents. However, I believe that adopting this recommendation would be disadvantageous in two aspects: in the child itself and in the society as a whole.

First of all, thinking about the child itself is very easy to realize that there would be a high pressure in this boy or girl, since he was chosen by “society” in order to thrive in some specific skill. Complimentary to the high pressure, the child would lose his childhood, since he would probably need to dedicate a lot of time to master his talents. The corollary in the child development could be some psychological traumas and the production of “outsiders” without a sense of community. There are already some examples of young people that were stimulated by their parents to develop some talent and that, even if today they are successful, they regret their childhood lost. One of them is a very famous chinese pianist that used to spend more than 4 hours per day training while all his friends were playing and having fun. It is true that today he is the greater pianist alive, but at what cost? Therefore, this recommendation should not be a social and collective choice.

The second reason is related to the impacts of this recommendation not in the child itself, but in the entire society. The argument is very simple here: in order to provide special training for selected children it is necessary to dedicate more funding that would probably be withdraw from the general education. In addition, this policy would be an additional source and generator of inequalities, since some people would receive a better education and be the “selected” ones. Thus, in macro and social terms, the recommendation has no advantages and could lead to a more divide society.

In addition to the psychological and social consequences, it is important to assert that the implementation of the recommendation would be a problem per se. Indeed, the question underlying the argument is: who would be responsible for spotting and selecting the special kids? Also, what does talent means? Are we talking about prodigious and geniuses children or regular boys and girls who stands out in a specific characteristic. Moreover, would the parents be allowed to deny the special education or it would be mandatory? There are several complex questions that should be answered in order to understand all the aspects that are involved with the recommendation.

To sum up, I believe that the recommendation is based in a fallacious thought about talents and that the implementation would yield to social and psychological impacts that are not advantageous in any circumstance. This is not to say that society doesn’t have to encourage their youth to develop talents, but it is to say that there should not be an institutionalize policy that selects some special kids and excludes the rest of them.