Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

There is a long-lasting discussion about whether our universities should form generalist professionals or very technical and specialised professionals. I argue that in an increasingly interdisciplinary and changing world, having general skills might be an advantage over a petrified specialised profile. Additionally, for the human progress is better when we do not segment the fields that much and rely in the combination of the best practices of each field of study.

First, it is an illusion that the fields of study are completely separate. Even if there is a widespread feeling that humanities, biological and quantitative fields are a disparate, the truth is that every field can benefit from the specific knowledges of the other fields. For example, it is better a computational programmer that can only code or a computation programmer that is able to understand the needs of the clients? What about an engineer that cannot write a project proposal without misspelling everything? And an artist that is not able to do simple calculations to manage his or her studio? In other words, the borders of the fields are increasingly blurred.

Second, crystallized skills and a too narrow focus can be a future disadvantage. For instance, a doctor can specialized in a kind of surgery that in 10 years might be replaced by robot machinery. Or a technology professional can specialized in some kind of code that may be replaced in the future. In other words, the skills needed today might not be the same as the skills needed in the future.

Therefore, universities should encourage their students to take courses outside their specific field. This opportunity can broaden students horizons and offer a possibility of thinking outside the box. It is a very powerful situation when students from different perspectives gather together and brainstorm solutions for complex problems. A segmented world is poorer than a world that combines different knowledges.