The best way to understand the character of a society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role models.

Heroism is a very old concept, that can be found even back to ancient Greek and Rome. Back there, heroes were those strong warriors, such as Achilles for example. The concept has evolved over time and it is now much more blurred. In fact, it is very difficult to seize who are the role models in the contemporary society. If a survey was made with the population, hardly a consensus would emerge. Instead, the range of modern “heroes” or role models would be very vast, ranging from singers, such as Justin Bieber, to historical important figures, such as Nelson Mandela. Considering the blurred frontiers of who can be a hero, the fact that our societies don’t have a unique paragon and the fact that behind role models the reality can be very different, I argue that examining the character of man and women that the society choose as its heroes can be misleading.

First of all, as the concept of heroism is very subjective, it is impossible to use as the only indicator of the character of a society. The concept of heroism has lost it meaning with the passage of time. Not that before it was better, but it was more clear who was considered a hero. Nowadays everyone and, thus, no one can be considered a hero. In fact, when you talk to the youth, it is sometimes surprising the kind of people they consider a myth or a role model. As the borders of who might or might not be a hero are blurred, it is more difficult to use this information as an indicator of the character of a society.

A second important factor is that it there is no unique role model in contemporary societies. In fact, we have so many social cleavages that it is almost impossible to agree on who would be the role model. In that sense, it can be more helpful to use role models to understand the different social groups that composed a society and understand how their values are translated in different role models. For instance, a group of feminists, might have as a role model one of the former women that were fighting for voting rights and other feminist agendas. On the contrary, a more sexist group might have as a role model maybe a man that is openly sexist and involved in some scandals. This is totally possible in societies that are increasingly polarized and in which it would be very difficult to reach a compromise to choose an only role model. However, it is useful looking at the role models in order to see that there is a gap between the different groups.

Last but not least, it is important to assume that role models by their own are not enough to reveal the real characteristics of a society. In fact, behind role models, fact and statistics can show another version. For example, a society can have Nelson Mandela as a “hero” and the fact would denote that the society cares for social and racial equality. Nonetheless, statistics can show that there is a pay gap between white and black workers. In that sense, statistics about relevant facts in society can be more important that “role models” to reveal the real character of a society (that might be a bit hypocrite). Role models alone, therefore, are not good indicators of how a society can be.

To sum up, the blurred dimensions of heorism, the polarized society and the fact that role models might not reflect real situations are good reasons to state that analysing their character is not the best way to understand contemporary societies. The argument is not that is not worth it, but that definitely is not the best way.