Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

In countries where science has thrived, one of the most important elements is the lack of restriction of what scientists should or should not investigate. In fact, scientific progress needs to be driven by the freedom of choice and by what, sometimes, some people pejoratively call “knowledge for knowledge”. Of course that with limited human and financial resources some choices need to be made and, in this process, choosing to prioritize discoveries that has an immediate and practical application can seem like a good choice. However, there are several reasons why this is misleading and would have negative impacts in the scientific field and, consequently, in the well-being of society as well.

First of all, the scientific progress and scientific method does not allow to anticipate all the results. Many scientific discoveries were made by accident. Take for instance the discovery of penicillin that was a complete revolution for the health field. The discovery was made by pure serendipity: the anecdote tells that Fleming was on vacation and some fungus grew in an early experiment that he was conducting about something else. When he returned, he realised that the bacteria around this fungus were all dead. It is valid to note that the original research was not related to an immediate impact, but it was more exploratory research. Now, imagine if Fleming hadn’t started the original research because he did not expected to discover something with immediate application. We would not have antibiotics in our world!

The anecdote of penicillin is an illustration of why science and scientific progress shouldn’t be focused only in immediate and practical applications of their discoveries. Moreover, a corollary of this choice can be to prioritize small accomplishments, instead of focusing on more universal and broad discoveries. In addition, this prioritization does not take into account the peculiarities of the scientific field that, by nature, are imbedded of uncertainties.

Last but not least, how would researchers decide what is an immediate application? And for what purpose? Would the requirement only be that is immediate or some degree of quality would matter as well? In other words, the ethical question behind is if for a society would it be better to invest in a scientific research capable of discovering the cancer cure in the long run or would it be better investing in a more commercial and immediate discovery, such as a new wireless control remote. I argue that the first option is better for the well-being of a society and that the idea of only investing in immediate results, can be harmful in the long run.

In conclusion, I argue that science should be free to invest in any kind of research, especially for two main reasons, The first is that the scientific method is full of uncertainties and history is a testimony of examples of discoveries made by accident. Secondly, the focus in immediate results would narrow the possibilities of reaching to more important results, that inevitably require more time for achieving practical results.