Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: it is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The argument claims that scientific investigations should not be exclusively limited to fields that are associated with immediate and practical approaches, because the lack of certainty about the projected result of researches is inevitable. I strongly disagree with neither the claim nor the reason that both of them are problematic in some aspects.

First of all, generalization a rule in all fields of researches is unacceptable. researching in some areas should absolutely be associated with practical experiences and immediate result. Contribution in medical researches that is closely related to the health of individuals is a good case in point. Scholars in this field of study have to only rely on practical experiences to find the treatment of a specific disease. For example, lots of accurate practical examinations should be done to discover the safe medicine of an epidemic new health condition. In addition, contributed scholars in this area have to also determine the immediate result of their research as soon as possible because the faster they find the solution the better they can prevent the spread of the disease. If they establish their new result of study without practical and immediate observations, they definitely may treat the health of generations. Consequently, researchers have to limit themselves to pragmatic immediate applications.

It is also worthy to mention that in such areas referred above, researchers' projection about the outcome of their practical experiments is both feasible and crucial. Prediction in filed such as medical science, biological studies, psychology, etc, is one of the most necessary parts of the research in order to decline the side effects of the research process. For instance, if biological scholars seeking the main reason of unexpected extinction of a rare beneficial insect in agricultural farms would not predict the consequence of their experiments on nature and creatures, not only they might fail to find the solution but also they may hurt the alive creatures in the studied area too. Therefore, making a reliable prediction in some fields of study is both vital and possible.

In conclusion, we cannot lose sight of the fact that there are numerous fields of research with plenty of possible approaches. Pragmatic science needs practical and sometimes immediate approaches. And as a result, making a certain prediction leads to the best consequent either for individuals or society.