Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is said that investigations done by researchers should not be limited to the only those that have immediate, practical outcomes. Also, the output of any research is not certain and clear.

Nowadays, scientific researches have grown in importance. They have vital importance in this competitive world. We cannot undergo developments without serious research works. People who pursue research are regarded with high prestige and are considered equivalent to gods as they gift the society important achievements with their creativity and inventions. Research work requires patience and diligent effort to achieve success. With the introduction of new technologies, people tend to achieve success in researches immediately and in a short time. Therefore, researches are limited to an immediate and practical application that is highly contentious. Some searches need years of effort and analysis, and they cannot have immediate outcomes. For example, the researches about space need some complex analysis, and most of the time it takes many years that researches achieve success, and even sometimes experts cannot predict the outcome of such investigations.

The ultimate aim of the research is to establish a new concept. Investigations with new concepts are useless unless they meet the needs of people in society. We can see that, in reality, all achievements of renowned scientists that now we enjoy were not highly considered during those scientists ‘period. For instance, the invention of the airplane by the Wright brothers. In their period, this invention was not important and it was considered silly. In the olden days, in Wright ‘s period the invention of the airplane had no useful outcome for people because if they wanted to go traveling, they only used carriage or the car and even walked in periodic rest. By contrast, now we cannot imagine traveling to another country without using an airplane. This invention has had its achievements for people after a long period. so, we can see that most of the researchers gain the desired results after some years.

In addition to this, most of the researchers cannot discover something that has an immediate, practical application because most of their inventions are beyond the mind of people in their period and they cannot understand them. For example, in olden days people could not have imagined individuals would walk on the moon in the future but people who worked in NASA could achieve it and showed this ability when people were able to perceive this achievement. Also, nowadays some institutions like NASA have started some researches that they do not know exactly about the result of them, and they try to show their new achievements with some science fiction movies to people to prepare them to accept their achievements.

In conclusion, I believe that Researchers should not restrict their researches to only ones in which they are expected to discover something that has an immediate, practical application because most of the investigations do not an exact result and they need years of effort.