Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Scientific research seems to consistently be under attack in the United States. People bemoan that it is wasting tax money, or that it is antithetical to religious values, or that it is somehow corrupt and self-interested while simultaneously in thrall to mythical big donors. Because of all of this outside (and sometimes financial) pressure, researchers often understandably either feel the pull to or are forced to limit their work to investigations that will lead to an immediate and practical application. This mindset is understandable – it is easier to get funding and stave off criticism if you have something tangible to show for your work, after all – but ultimately misguided. I agree with the claim that researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application, because it is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Let us take my friend Alex as an example. Alex is a Ph.D. candidate in chemistry at an Ivy League institution. He works in a lab that looks at chemical structures in synthetic products. This project was begun because his PI had a hunch there was something to be discovered there, though she wasn’t sure exactly what. After two years of research, this lab discovered that a particular kind of plastic can cause serious diseases, including some without any treatment possibilities. This discovery let to his institution and others pulling products made from this type of plastic from their shelves. They are currently working on a media news blitz about the topic as well. The researchers did not know this information about this type of plastic going into the project, nor did they conduct their investigation specifically to find that result, but that is what they found after years of following one lead after another. Had they been set a strict research agenda, they would not have made this discovery, and people would still be at risk from this type of plastic.

My friend Alex is not the only scientist to have discovered something without a directed research plan. Insulin and penicillin were both discovered while their respective inventors were trying to work on something else, and so was dynamite. Limiting scientific inquiry to discoveries that you think will have an immediate and practical effect is bad not only for the future of society but for intellectual pursuits in general. By forcing scientists to work only on projects that will supposedly lead to positive and practical outcomes, you stifle their creativity, which is bad not only for one particular project but for the rest of their careers. Without the freedom to pursue what the scientists believe is best, their creative and imaginative brain muscles atrophy from overwork, leading to a further narrowing of scientific discovery and discourse. It is a terrible mistake for researchers to limit their investigations to areas that are expected to produce an immediate and practical effect.