Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application.

Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Unexplored path has the most interesting stories to tell. The path which lack of human footprints ever may have full of surprises and knowledge. New things were discovered at most undesired places one have ever thought. I agree with the claim that researcher should narrowed down their scope in a particular areas where they except to find something for three reasons.

First, the areas of research which is already been dugged out may not have much to give. Very few times we could discover new findings by reiterating over already known things.Sometimes, In order to find something new researcher may have to look from a different prespective or at a broader level rather than in a definite scope. For Example, The Elon Musk's SpaceX was established on vision to designed reuseble space vechile. In one of the interview Musk's stated that, "if we have limited our scope to what so ever we have known in the field of designing rocket then we could not have been successful, we started our research from scratch and explored never thought design and pattern ". There could uncertainity of the outcome if we tries to find in unobivious part but it could be full of possiblities that one could ever imagined.

Second, it is not always important that every research output should have a immediate pratical application, somtimes it could just be starting of new line of research or part of any other research program. For Example, history has many evidence that most important discovery has been done accidentily. The scientist who discovered microwave oven was just experimenting inside a large electromagnetic antenna on radio wave. He noticed that the chocolate in his pocket melted whereas the temperature there was very cold. After some study he found out the reason behind it which lead to the discovery on microwave oven. Also we all know the story behind the finding of penicilin medicine which was also a accidental discovery. There many more such expirement which have crucial accidental discoveries. If in all this incident scientist have restricted there scope for a particular area, then we could probably may not have such a marvelous discoveries.

Finally, most research program are based on funding, and the investor always needed some sort of industrial, business and economical discovery out of his money as soon as possible which result in application oriented mindset of the research scientist. We cannot reject the fact that every reseach program needs funding to carry out research and every investor need some value out of money as soon as possible, but this money oriented mindset can left out many of the other factors which research could have explored and couldnt because of the deadline and external presssure. For Example, Edison is known for its discovery of bulb, but one more thing which he have discovered was dc power. To commercilize the power project he resticted the scope of his research program to only dc power and always kept critizing Nicolas Tesla for theory and application of AC power. Today we all know the importance of AC power grid. In short, by restricting the scope of research work and the researcher commerical mindset leads to leaving behind many important things than the number of things we have found.

In conclusion, one found just focus on practical application and leave behind potential finding in the race of research or one could go for more wider scope and get the maximum out the money, resources and time we are investing into it.