To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

This topic raises the controversial issue of whether one must study major cities in order to understand the most important characteristics of a society or not. While each side have its strength and weakness , I believe that to understand most important characteristics of the society one must study small villages than studying major cities. Indisputably, one could say that many characteristics of a society can be studied only in major cities such as time management and civic sense toward cleanliness especially in countries like India where cleanliness is major issue. Nevertheless, one could clearly agree that time management was also the part of farmer who was intelligent timed the cultivation of crop according to the environment and whether conditions .Thus, I generally disagree with the opinion that to understand the most important characteristics of society one must study its major cities, and would argue that the most characteristics of a society need to studied at the root that is villages from where it is evolved slowly and gradually since ages.

First of all, we should consider that many important characteristics were passed forward by many generation till it today reached the modern society.To illustrate, let us look at the example simple welcoming gesture of guest in Indian society. Indian society has a special respect for guest who come to

our houses. We greet them with love and respect .It is said in India that "Atithi devi Bhava "which means the guest who come to our house is equivalent to god.This is one of the important characteristics of Indian society and this is passed on by generation to generation from our ancestor staying in villages and gradually carried forward in the modern society in many major cities today in India.

Furthermore, If we see that major cities consist of people from many different part of area in a country and many of the people had migrated from small villages to this major cities .so many characteristics of the society has been developed from different belief and tradition of this people which came from different places. If we take a example of major cities in India which is Mumbai , so one can say that if we study a city like Mumbai then we could understand most important characteristics. But if u look closely in this context, people in Mumbai came from different small village and still continue to migrate. So many characteristic of society in Mumbai has been emerged from different culture and people which came there and stayed there for ages.

In Conclusion , Although some characteristic could be easily understood by studying major cities but many important characteristic can only be studied from where it is originated .So I strongly disagree that ,to study the most important characteristic of society ,one must study the major cities ,but one need to study the smallest village also.